Getting In Part 1 – Blog Anxiety

I started this blog a few weeks ago and despite my best efforts I have yet to write anything! I’ll be honest, it’s been on my ‘to do’ list every week, but like many things on my ‘to do’ list, despite my best efforts, it seemed to stay and get pushed down the order with other things cropping up. I’ve also been wondering where to actually begin! I have kept a journal on and off since a child and never plan on showing those ramblings to anyone, but who reads blogs really I thought? Who are they written for? Are they just one more act of narcissism in a social media saturated world? Is it for the author e.g me, or an unseen audience?

As a sociologist I write, or attempt to write (some of my peer reviewers would disagree on that point) in order to try and make sense of the world around me through the research I have undertaken. This work can be found in one of the tabs at the top of this blog (again something that is on the ‘to do’ list) but for the most part this work has appeared in academic books and journals and will be missed by most people without access to a university library. The ironic thing is that if I don’t publish my work in this way, I will be seen as unemployable by universities and hence not be able to carry on researching many of the important issues that I want to. I also want to create a place where I can share things in a more informal setting and attempt to be engaging in a much more relaxed, almost fun way.

As I was drafting this blog post in my head on the trip home last night from the university I am based at (Vancouver has a great public transport network despite what the locals say), I began to think of blogs for inspiration and realised,  quite quickly, that I have quite a few that I visit regularly. There are the ones from academic sociology types, like those by Les Back , Anna Tarrant and the great Raewyn Connell , then the ones on running, such as those by my friends Lisa and Mike who are each running marathons for different causes, the ones on masculinities research and finally, the ones on dating and sex. These then give me some confidence that I can find my own style and come up with something at regular intervals that will be informative and even entertaining at times! This blog then is my attempt at trying to do all this.

But…that is enough for now! I have run out of time as the 2015 Rugby World Cup is due to start soon and I need to get off and into downtown Vancouver to watch it in a pub somewhere. Priorities!

Keep a look out for Part 2 of this opening blog post, where I will write much more about what I am actually doing out here and what the coming months will ensue for me and this blog.

3 thoughts on “Getting In Part 1 – Blog Anxiety

  1. Alicia

    Not a criticism Mike…anyone not anyway…and I think you meant thought not though…in the 4th line of your anxiety blog piece…
    I can proof read if you wishx

    Like

Leave a Reply

